Skypatterns Skytalk

Tag: Lunar Eclipse

Super Lunar Eclipse Grand Cross

by on Jun.25, 2010, under In The News

This Saturday morning, June 26th, there’s going to be a lunar eclipse and it’s going to be a big one.

The eclipse begins at 3:17 am PDT (10:17 UT) when the Moon enters the sunset-colored shadow of Earth. By 4:38 am PDT (11:38 UT), the moment of greatest eclipse, 54% of the Moon’s diameter will be covered. From beginning to end, the event lasts almost three hours.

The sight will be incredible, due to the “Moon illusion” created by the Moon being so close to the horizon, it will appear huge. The Moon opposes the Sun today, and Saturn opposes Uranus, creating a Grand Cross. Like the wheel, the cross brings movement, energy and change.

Leave a Comment : more...

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...